AWRW Featured Author: Jacqueline E. Smith @JackieSmith114 #FeaturedAuthor #BookReview

The Talented, The Lovely, Jacqueline E Smith!

Jacqueline Smith was born and raised in Dallas, Texas. She attended the University of Texas at Dallas, where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Art and Performance in 2010. Two years later, she earned her Master’s Degree in Humanities. 

Along with writing and publishing, Jacqueline loves photography, traveling, and nature. — Amazon Author Bio

Today I am featuring Author Jacqueline E Smith’s books on my blog. As I have told nearly everyone in passing, this is the new home for A Well Read Woman Blog, and I would like to move my reviews to this new site. I thought I would start with Jackie’s books. 🙂

Jackie writes paranormal, horror novels, (Cemetery Tours Book Series), as well as new-adult, romance reads, (with her Boy Band Book Series). She also has several short stories published. In addition to being an author, she is the owner of Wind Trail Publishing. – You could say she has her plate full! In her spare time, she takes beautiful photos of nature.

The Cemetery Tours Series currently consists of three books: Cemetery Tours Book 1,  Between Worlds Book 2, and After Death Book 3. I’m a huge fan of ghosts and the paranormal in general and this series does not disappoint! And let me tell you, each book only gets better! After Dark is my favorite, so far!

ctseries
Books 1-3 of The Cemetery Tours Series {Photo Credit: April L Wood}

Cemetery Tours Book 1:

Some secrets are best kept laid to rest. At least, that’s as far as Michael Sinclair is concerned.

At twenty-seven, he has spent his entire life perfecting the art of pretending that the ghosts he encounters on a daily basis do not exist. Now, if only the dead would let him rest in peace.

Unfortunately, that doesn’t seem likely, especially after Kate Avery and her ailing brother, Gavin, move in next door. Kate and Gavin are haunted, and not by a dearly departed loved one. This spirit is aggressive, menacing, and harboring a dark resentment toward Gavin. In spite of every instinct advising him to walk away, Michael finds himself seeking to uncover the mysteries of Gavin’s past, and falling for the bright and lovely Kate.

Yet competing for her affection is Luke Rainer, television’s hottest celebrity ghost hunter and the only (living) person to know Michael’s secret. But the dead have secrets, too. Some will go to any length to withhold what should have gone with them to the grave, while others will risk everything to make their voices heard, even if that means putting another’s life at stake. Now, for the sake of friends and strangers alike, Michael must choose between preserving his cherished anonymity and lending his aid to those for whom all hope seems lost.

What I love about Book 1, (and this series in general), is the family dynamic between Kate and Gavin who are brother and sister. I mentioned in an earlier review, that if I could pick out a brother for myself, I’d pick Gavin. I’ve always wished I had a brother, and throughout life I’ve globbed on to male friends who I wished were my brothers. I’ve always had male best-friends, (since I was a baby until now), and when I read about Gavin, I felt like he was my brother because I slipped so easily into Kate’s shoes and lived vicariously through her character.

What I wasn’t expecting, but was pleasantly surprised with, was the romance between Michael and Kate. And then, the Ghost Prince of Prime Time swoops in, and things REALLY get interesting!

Purchase Cemetery Tours Book 1, Amazon USA

Add to your GOODREADS TBR List

Between Worlds Book 2: 

Someone always dies…

Someone is always left behind…

Now that his 22095545secret is out, Michael Sinclair finally agrees to join paranormal superstar Luke Rainer and the Cemetery Tours crew on an investigation. Not just any investigation. The biggest investigation of their career. Once home to the wealthy Sterling Hall and his beloved wife, Joanna, Stanton Hall Manor in Maine is famous for the love story that inspired it… and the ghosts who now inhabit it. For Luke and the crew, Stanton Hall is a dream come true.

Unfortunately, some dreams turn out to be nightmares.

It had been a while since I had read book 1, so being reacquainted with book 2 of this series felt like I was revisiting old friends. I fell back in love with the characters, all over again. This installment is Michael’s story – offering a unique perspective.

Overall, Between Worlds is an excellent, new-adult paranormal romance, with lovable ghost-hunting characters, that I absolutely would recommend to a friend.

Purchase Between Worlds Book 2, Amazon USA

Add to your GOODREADS TBR List

After Death Book 3: 

Welcome to the Circus of the Dead.

When Michael Sinclair receives an 26017795invitation to the grand opening of Cirque Somniatis, he figures it will be a good opportunity to get away from ghosts, potential in-laws, and the seemingly endless stream of rejected job applications…

And a chance to spend a romantic weekend at the circus with Kate.

But nothing is as it seems as Michael, Kate, and ghost-hunter extraordinaire Luke Rainer venture onto the haunted fairgrounds in the small town of Hugo, Oklahoma. New rivals, theatrical psychics, and a Ringmaster with a dark secret of his own all wait for them under the Big Top.

Come one, come all. Do not forego. Step inside, enjoy the show…

After Death – my favorite – is nightmarishly awesome! The world building is phenomenal. I really enjoyed the haunted circus setting as well as all of the extravagant secondary characters. The author truly can paint a scene with her words. Reading this book was such an enjoyable experience.

Like a good mystery, every character had me guessing – are they the villain of the story? When all was revealed I was delightfully surprised.

Purchase After Death Book 3, Amazon USA


Add to your Goodreads TBR List


And then we have the Boy Band Book Series!

IMG_20160602_175548
Photo Credit: April L Wood

My husband seriously loomed over me as I was snapping photos. I’m actually surprised he let me use some of his band gear as props!

Boy Band A Novel Book 1: Sam Morneau is Melissa Parker’s best friend. He’s also a member of 23966802The Kind of September, basically the hottest boy band on the planet.

After two and a half years, Mel is all too familiar with the day-to-day occurrences that come with being a member of the band’s inner circle, including hectic schedules, passionate fans, and gossip-mongering celebrity girlfriends.

Now, with the release of the group’s third album just weeks away, their lives have never been crazier and Mel is doing everything she can to keep up, all the while trying to cope with the ridiculous rumors that follow the band everywhere they go and pretending that she isn’t harboring a secret and hopeless crush on Sam.

It’s weird enough being in love with your best friend. It’s even weirder when the rest of the world is in love with him, too.

Fun fact: My characters in Winter’s Curse are huge fans of The Kind Of September, from Boy Band. (Used with permission by the Author, of course). So this series is extra special to me.

I really, really enjoyed the characters of the band, The Kind Of September, and the people who surrounded them. My favorite character was Mel Parker and I’m glad the point of view was through her because she had some really funny thoughts inside her head! I loved her deadpan sense of humor!

I also really enjoyed the dialogue between the characters, especially between the band members. They were hysterical! I liked them all the better because even though they were wildly popular and successful, they were still down to earth and acted like regular guys.

Every chapter began with song lyrics which I thought was a nice touch. My favorite song was “Snowlight”. I read it over and over again. I love how the author incorporated song lyrics into the book!

Purchase Boy Band A Novel Book 1, Amazon USA

Add to your Goodreads TBR List

 

Backstage Book 2: 

Melissa Parker might just be the luckiest girl on the planet. 26807369

She’s just turned twenty-one.
She’s best friends with The Kind of September.
And she’s dating Sam Morneau, everyone’s ultimate celebrity crush. Of course, no one is supposed to know about that.

As it turns out, no one is supposed to know about a lot of things that happen behind the scenes of life with the planet’s most popular boy band. Now, what should be Happily Ever After for Mel and Sam is turning into a series of secrets, manipulation, and potential heartbreak… Just in time for The Kind of September’s world tour.

Sometimes I read a book and I like it so much that I jump into the character’s body. I live and breathe inside of them. Everything stops around me and I’m no longer myself. This book was like that for me. I enjoyed “being” Mel and living in her world. 🙂

I was eager to read this story after one heck of a cliffhanger at the end of Boy Band, (Book 1). Overall, I love this series. It has a plot I enjoyed getting lost in and the action never stops! I would recommend this novel to fans of young adult/ new adult fiction, romance, and of course anyone who likes “boy bands”. 🙂

Purchase Backstage Book 2, Amazon USA

Add to your GOODREADS TBR List

Thank you for checking out my feature on Author Jacqueline E Smith! I hope you have grabbed a book or two of hers while you were here!

 

7 thoughts on “AWRW Featured Author: Jacqueline E. Smith @JackieSmith114 #FeaturedAuthor #BookReview

Leave a Reply

