AWRW Book Review: Cutting Up The Competition (Horror High Series II) by Author Carissa Ann Lynch #YA #Cheerleading #Horror @CarissaAnnLynch @LimitlessBooks

cuttingupthecompetitionDay one of sophomore year, and Horror High is already living up to its name…

Amanda Loxx isn’t your stereotypical cheerleader. Her life has never been perfect. Her father is dead, and her mother is a drug addict. Now she is forced to live with her kooky grandma Mimi, who happens to be a former Las Vegas showgirl. Sophomore year is supposed to bring normal back to her life.

We’ve got murder, yes we do! We’ve got murder, how about you?

A string of pranks including a haunting chant sets everyone on alert. The girl who taunted the cheerleaders last year is locked away in juvenile hall. Amanda and her friends think it’s just a prank…a copycat looking for attention or a freshman hoping to scare off the competition.

When a cheerleader is found dead and another one attacked, everyone is certain history is set to repeat itself…

If Amanda and her friends hope to survive another year at the infamous Horror High, they’ve got to figure out who is behind these new attacks. Is it the freakishly talented new freshman hoping to carve her way to a varsity spot, or the person sending Amanda threatening letters? Whoever it is, she’s…

Cutting Up the Competition

Image result for bloody cheerleader gif

Kindle Edition: 215 Pages Image result

Published May 24th, 2016 by Limitless Publishing

Genre: Horror, YA, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense

Horror High Series

After reading Cheerleading Can Be Murder, Book I of Carissa Ann Lynch’s Horror High Series, I was eager to read Book II, Cutting Up The Competition. I found this novel to be just as thrilling and mysterious as the first!

Amanda Loxx is a sophmore at Harrow High and she is eager to make the cheerleading squad — unfortunately, someone else is eager too… eager enough to kill for it.

But, the killer is already locked away in juvenile hall… right? Is it a copycat terrorizing the teens? Or was the wrong girl sent away?

Image result for bloody cheerleader gifCutting Up The Competition, Horror High II, by Carissa Ann Lynch, is a fast paced, murder mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end!

I loved all the creeptastic chants and the clever plot twists. I loved how Amanda wasn’t your stereotypical cheerleader — her mother was a drug addict and her father was dead. Carissa Ann Lynch really brought Amanda Loxx alive with her complex backstory.

But now, I’m left to wonder, will there be another story? Gosh, I hope so.

I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again: I love this author’s writing style. Whether it be a story about a creepy town called Flocksdale, or a killer roaming the halls of Harrow High, she always has me lost in her worlds! I highly recommend the Horror High series to fans of mystery and suspense!

Go Dragons!

Image result for pom pomImage result for pom pomImage result for pom pomImage result for pom pomImage result for pom pom

5 out of 5 pom poms!

Image result for bloody pom pomsPURCHASE

Amazon, USA

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Image result for carissa ann lynch

Besides my family, my greatest love in life is books. Reading them, writing them, holding them, smelling them…well, you get the idea. I’ve always loved to read, and some of my earliest childhood memories are me, tucked away in my room, lost in a good book. I received a five dollar allowance each week, and I always — always — spent it on books. My love affair with writing started early, but it mostly involved journaling and writing silly poems. Several years ago, I didn’t have a book to read so I decided on a whim to write my own story, something I’d like to read. It turned out to be harder than I thought, but from that point on I was hooked. My first and second books were released by Sarah Book Publishing: This Is Not About Love and Grayson’s Ridge. I’m a total genre-hopper. Basically, I like to write what I like to read: a little bit of everything! I reside in Floyds Knobs, Indiana with my husband, three children, and massive collection of books. I have a degree in psychology and worked as a counselor.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “AWRW Book Review: Cutting Up The Competition (Horror High Series II) by Author Carissa Ann Lynch #YA #Cheerleading #Horror @CarissaAnnLynch @LimitlessBooks

Leave a Reply

