AWRW Book Review: Twice Upon A Time, (The Black Angel Book Series 1), by Author Hope Irving #BookReview #AmReading #Mythology #Romance @HI_Author

twiceupon1Once upon a time, I was Morgann, a 9th century Irish calligrapher-monk.
Deirdre was my assignment, my forbidden love, a witch with whom I wrote a coveted book.
Unfortunately, our story didn’t get a chance to become a fairy tale, it turned out as a famous urban legend referred as The Black Angel Book.
In order to protect the book from getting in to the wrong hands, Deirdre cast a spell. One where I remember and she forgets. Under her spell, our souls travel from body to body until we find each other again. Eventually.
My quest is to find Deirdre, in whatever body her soul inhabits and trigger her memory. Only, the woman I find 1200 years later is not what I was expecting.
Rose is not my type but my soul yearns for her. Every sign tells me that she is my Deirdre. How do I convince this broken, quiet and unbelieving woman that she is my twice upon a time?
  

Genre: New Adult, Mythology Romance

349 Pages

Goodreads

Series

Once upon a time, centuries ago, a monk named Morgann and a witch named Deidre crafted the Black Angel Book — a book so powerful, others would kill for it. Before they died, Deidre cast a spell to ensure they would find one another once again… in another lifetime.

Twice upon a time, their souls are in the bodies of Virgil, a calligrapher, and Rose, who on summer vacation, takes his calligraphy class. Rose is depressed from a break-up and ready for a summer fling.

Virgil is well aware of who he is and believes Rose may be his Deidre. He is dying to tell her but he has to be patient — like he is with calligraphy — in order to not scare her away. He also has to endure Rose’s games and her attempts to make him jealous. But how can he convince her when she doesn’t believe in fate? And what if he’s wrong? Maybe Rose isn’t his Deidre, after all…

I absolutely love how this novel is based on an urban legend that the author created herself! (I think; I couldn’t find an urban legend about a monk and a witch and a coveted book anywhere online.) I was intrigued by the star-crossed lovers theme and was eager to turn the pages to see how this story would play out.

This novel was more of a new adult, mythology romance than a paranormal romance or urban fantasy. I say this because Rose isn’t aware of her past nor her destiny and the setting is in Massachusetts which is otherwise ordinary. There are no roaming supernatural creatures, etc., and with the exception of the chapters told through Virgil’s POV, this story reads as a contemporary romance. Of course, the reader knows otherwise because of Virgil. 🙂

I do wish their life before was elaborated on more because I really found the legend fascinating. Since this is a series, I’m hoping that just maybe there will be a book about Morgann and Deidre in there somewhere — even if it’s just a novella.

Also, the new covers are beautiful. I know there have been a few changes and they just get better and better! 🙂

I would recommend this story to fans of romance, myths, and legends!

I would like to thank the author for a copy of her book in exchange for an honest and fair book review.

Image result for four out of five stars
Purchase, Amazon USA

About the Author

Hope Irving is the proud mother of a lovely and witty young lady, and the lucky wife of a loving and supportive husband. She’s a debut indie author who lived in Paris, France, most of her life and also in the US, where she graduated with a master degree.
She loves Nutella and Camembert cheese (not together), carrot cake and cinnamon Altoids.
Her favorite fictional characters are Eric Northman (Sookie Stackhouse series, Charlaine Harris) and Sean Bateman (The Rules of Attraction, Bret Easton Ellis).
The Black Angel Book is her debut series, a NA paranormal love story: Twice Upon A Time (Book 1), Deadly Ever After (Book 2) & Once Upon A Dream (Book 3) and Madly Ever After (Book 4), soon to be released later in 2016/early 2017.

2 thoughts on “AWRW Book Review: Twice Upon A Time, (The Black Angel Book Series 1), by Author Hope Irving #BookReview #AmReading #Mythology #Romance @HI_Author

Leave a Reply

